Handmade Touches for a Vintage Style Wedding

This is the message I found in a fortune cookie last June: “You will soon be involved in many gatherings and parties”. I’m not superstitious, but this statement was certainly true – later that month, I was headed up to Gloucester, MA for my little sister’s wedding! It was a beautiful, vintage inspired affair to remember :).

I was so thrilled to be able to contribute some  handmade touches for the ring bearer and the flower girl. My niece, Lila, was the flower girl. I made a flower hair band for her using fabric flowers, felt and some frilly ribbon. I was inspired by the beautiful flower hair crowns you can see on Etsy, like this one.  To make the flower halo, I just removed some fabric flowers from their stems and hot glued them to an oval piece of felt, then I sandwiched a long, ruffled length of ribbon between that and a matching piece of felt. It is easy to wear a floral headband like this one: you just secure it with bobby pins, then tie the ribbon at the nape of your neck.

Our son, Gabe was the ring bearer, and he got to wear the most adorable outfit with a newsboy hat, bow-tie and suspenders. Instead of carrying the wedding rings on a pillow, we wrapped vintage poetry and music books together with some more of the flowers from the flower girl’s hair crown and some vintage lace and twine. The books were to represent the happy couple, whose college majors were Music and English :) . Mom contributed the vintage poetry books and I had the old 1930’s children’s song book and vintage lace. This unique ring bearer “pillow” idea also came from Etsy :)!

I shared some more photos from the wedding at Scrapbook Ideas, from the photo book I made everyone for Christmas. I keep meaning to ask my sister and her new husband if they mind if I post some pictures of them too :)!

6 responses to “Handmade Touches for a Vintage Style Wedding

  1. Pingback: My Cuties! « Lovely, Lovely Things

  2. andy1076 January 30, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    Cute photos! have fun at the parties per the fortune cookie ;)

  3. Rita January 30, 2012 at 10:24 am

    Great photos…as usual. And I must add that you are one talented lady! God bless.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

