My Very Happy Birthday

WooHoo, I am now the big Three-O!! I had a great time throughout my twenties, but I am not sad to see them go. I’m just excited to see what the thirties have in store for me, I think it’s gonna be even better than ever before :)!

My birthday has been just fantastic so far! Of course, I had a great time earlier this month visiting family in CT and enjoying Cape Cod with Chris – and yes, I still have plenty more vacation photos to share :). And I have also gotten plenty of lovely gifts including lots of great scrapbooking ones (click here to read more plus see my “Big Three-O” page). But the best gifts by far have been the hand-made card from Gabe and the THIRTY sweet emails Chris sent to me (from work) today, each one with a new message about why he loves me. Here is the whole list (you can see why I am so madly in love with this man and I have been teary-eyed all day – he gives me waaaay too much credit)!

In honor of your 30th birthday, here are 30 reasons I feel blessed to
have you as my wife:

1) You love God with all of your heart, mind and strength.
2) You respect me.
3) You speak my love language perfectly.
4) You speak my love language often.
5) You love Gabe.
6) You make me laugh.
7) You make Gabe laugh (hysterically).
8) You are open with me about what’s on your mind.
9) You have an amazing creative mind.
10) You are blessed with a beauty that I love.
11) You are the only one I would ever want in the passenger seat on a road
trip.
12) You bend over backward to be a helper suitable for me.
13) You live a life of example for Gabe.
14) You have put up with me for more than half your life (15 years, 2
months out of 30 years).
15) You are ready to spend the rest of your life growing old with me.
16) You cook creative and tasty meals.
17) You perfectly fit with me for cuddling up on the couch and watching
movies.
18) You’d rather stay home with me than hang out with friends.
19) You can always lift my spirits when I’m down.
20) You are always ready to be silly for me or Gabe.
21) You will follow me anywhere (even all the way to Alabama).
22) You encourage me to live a life that is God-fearing and
God-honoring.
23) You push me to excel at work, praise me when I do and cheer me up
when I don’t.
24) You follow through on commitments.
25) You always pursue your goals, overcoming challenges along the way.
26) You are able to discern scriptures effortlessly, evidence of the
indwelling presence of the Holy Spirit in you.
27) You make sacrifices daily for me and Gabe.
28) You let me lead you.
29) You give me Biblically based advice and pray through decisions with
me.
30) You are generous and compassionate.

15 responses to “My Very Happy Birthday

  1. unkit September 13, 2008 at 8:10 am

    Happy birthday! your blog is lovely. I just found it, but will be saving this to return again Blessings, Sudie

  2. Kathiesbirds September 10, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Jess, happy happy birthday! You have a wonderful husband there and I am so happy for you. I celebrate your life and remember how much grief you gave your Mom when you were a baby! LOL! Apparently it was worth it for you’ve grown into a beautiful, charming, amazing and intelligent young woman. I am proud to know you!

  3. Polly September 10, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    What a joy to find your corner of blog world =) Blessings.. Polly

  4. Dad September 6, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    Well I finally got around to see this list.. (GREAT JOB Chris!!) I’m so proud of both of you. At 30 God has brought you further than evan a father’s dreams have traveled. Love you guys, Bunches Like …… oh you know.

  5. Miss Rhea September 6, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Happy Birthday !! 30 is the prime of life !! Enjoy every second of your 30′s. :) Your Hubby sounds like a great guy, you are really Blessed. :) Enjoyed your pretty blog !! :)

  6. Jamie September 4, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    That is such a great list! I could not think of a better birthday gift.

  7. Mom August 30, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    How well Chris knows you–and how well he loves you. God has given you the right man for your romantic heart :-). God bless him! I am so happy for you and love you so much.

  8. Brianna August 28, 2008 at 8:29 am

    Happy Birthday! This list is so sweet, what a wonderful birthday gift. Thanks for commenting on my blog. Jamie was telling me that there was a good scrapbooker at church :). Now I know who it is!

  9. JanMary, N Ireland August 27, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    Happy, happy birthday.

    You are still SO YOUNG!

    Must be something in the water with all these romantic husbands sending romantic lists by email!

  10. luvfromindia August 26, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    Dear jess….i made my husband read this list…and i think he is a little jealous!!! When God is in the core of families..it shows! Belated wishes and wishes for this togetherness now and forevermore…..

  11. Doris August 26, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    this is so beautiful! what amazing relationships you have with God, your husband and family… it just glows.

  12. Tracy August 26, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Truly you are blessed by God, love the list.
    Tracy in AR

  13. sarah August 26, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    AW! Jess that list was awesome… Sounds like you had a great birthday! :) LOVE YOU!

  14. denali August 26, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    Sheesh, is this where I admit that *I* am crying over this remarkable list?!

    You are incredibly blessed to have each other :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

