The Fear of the Lord

My love of scrapbooking has recently led me to look into faithbooking, something I wish I had started ages ago!! As part of my faithbooking, I have been decorating little cards with my weekly memory verses on them, so that I can later incorporate the cards into my faithbook(s). Here is the card I made for this week (see credits here):

 Memory Verses

The fear of the Lord is not a very popular topic these days. I think that the reason for this is that some people have taken the idea of the fear of the Lord to an extreme and made God out to be an angry, mean-spirited scary monster. That is not who God is. On the other extreme, there are those who want to make God out to be a big happy grandpa type who spoils us, winks at us when we’re “naughty” and is generally there just there to comfort us if we’re sad and to shower us with gifts and affection, with no responsibilities on our part. This is not who God is either!

I don’t claim to have a full understanding of who God is – I know that I will never fully understand him until I see him face to face. But these are the two things I am beginning to understand about God: 1) He is not out to get me, he loves me with a love so deep that I cannot comprehend it and he wants to protect me and bless my life 2) He is completely Holy, and my sinful nature totally goes against everything he is. If it were not for Jesus’ sacrifice in my place I could never be in God’s presence. If I really stop to think about this, it makes me feel humbled, reverent and yes, fearful! Don’t misunderstand what I mean by fearful – I’m not talking about the kind of fear that makes me nervous, worried, or unhappy, but a healthy fear of God’s AWESOME power!

When I don’t fear the Lord, I put MY interests first. I don’t give a second thought to God’s will for my life, because for some crazy reason I start to think I know better than God! Once I head down that path my situation keeps going from bad to worse until I finally come to my senses and I realize how stupid I’ve been. At that point I am usually gripped with remorse and the fear of God comes flooding back to me. God is God, and he could choose to deal with me in the way that I deserve, but when I turn from my sin he has complete mercy on me and he continues to bless my life (that is not to say that some of the negative consequences of my sin will not continue)! This seems to be the wonderful mystery of fearing God – if you don’t fear him, you WILL have reason to fear him (if not in this life, then in the afterlife) – but if you do fear him, you will have nothing to fear :). There is great comfort in fearing the Lord.

Here is a nice list of the benefits of fearing the Lord found in the book of Proverbs (thanks to Mark Copeland):

  1. The “fear of the Lord” is the beginning of knowledge – Proverbs 1:7
  2. The “fear of the Lord” will cause one to hate evil – Pr 8:13
  3. The “fear of the Lord” will prolong life – Pr 10:27
  4. The “fear of the Lord” provides strong confidence and is a
  fountain of life – Pr 14:26-27
  5. The “fear of the Lord” prompts one to depart from evil – Pr 16:6
  6. The “fear of the Lord” leads to a satisfying life, and spares
  one from much evil – Pr 19:23
  7. The “fear of the Lord” is the way to riches, honor, and life! – Pr 22:4

I was so happy that my Bible study for today was about the fear of the Lord, it’s a topic that I don’t think about often enough and I hope to learn more about!

8 responses to “The Fear of the Lord

  1. Tabitha September 4, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Hello, Just a quick question How do I get to your website because I was looking at scrapbook websites and stumbled across some of your work. Boy the Lord, works in way one least expects it. I really like your faithbooking and would like to share your website with the ladies of my Single Moms group everyone could always use words of encouragement and they look so beautiful with the touch of scrapbooking you add. P.S. The visits to the graden’s are very nice. Thanks Tabitha

  2. Pingback: Faithbooking « Scrapbook Ideas

  3. Kristiyaya July 13, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    Thank you for sharing your faith with me and all who read your beautiful blog. We are truly blessed to know and love our Lord! Women of Faith speak out! WTG Jess!!!!

  4. Jess March 18, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Thanks SO much for sharing this with me Hope!! Also, thanks for the plug on your blog :)!! I loved your blog, and it sounds like you are using your hobbies and talents to grow closer to God – that’s awesome!! I would love to see any of your faithbook pages that you are willing to share, so please let me know if you post them online anywhere :)!! God bless!!

  5. Hope March 12, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Thank you so much for sharing your journey into faithbooking. I have been so inspired by your posts. I just love the idea of scrapbooking along with your Bible studies. I have just started one with my daughter (Kay Arthur’s HOW DO YOU KNOW GOD’S YOUR FATHER?) and will be starting Beth Moore’s Daniel study in April. And I have just started to digi-scrap. My goal is to try to scrap what the Lord shows me through these studies. I am so excited! Thanks so much for the inspiration. God bless.

  6. Jess March 12, 2008 at 8:07 am

    Thanks so much for your encouragement Lynn!! I’m so happy that my ideas have been helpful :)! I LOVE your faith journal, it’s BEAUTIFUL!!! Thanks for sharing the link :). Your ideas are so great too – I like the idea of one big journal to keep everything in, because I have noticed that when God is trying to tell me something he uses lots of different means (the sermon from that week, my Bible study, etc)!

  7. Lynn March 12, 2008 at 12:47 am

    I’ve just found this blog (I already siubscribe to the RSS feed on your other blogs!) and want to say thank you for this, and the ideas you have given me regarding faith journalling (see http://www.digishoptalk.com/gallery/showphoto.php?photo=282996). I have just started my own faith journal (well, it has everything in it, really, prayers, “to do” list, sermon notes, things from my bible reading (although I journal that seperately in OneNote) and I am about to strat including something similar to your cards. The use of brag book pages is a really neat idea as I have managed to acquire loads of these (lol!) but have used hardly any. Thanks for the ideas!

  8. Pingback: Another Faithbooking Idea « Scrapbook Ideas

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

